10 Tips for Compelling Street Photography


10 Tips for Compelling Street Photography
by Mike Boening, Olympus Trailblazer

MikeBoening02aStreet photography is one of the most exciting forms of photography because all you need to do is go for a “walk.” Actually, it may not be a simple as that but documenting everyday life can get easier as you explore and practice this exciting genre of photography. Capturing that decisive moment when an image becomes more than just a snapshot can happen by following a few tips.

MikeBoening02b1- Check your settings
Street photography is not always technical in nature.
At its roots it’s about emotion and the mood of an image. But, no matter what, you still have to know your camera settings. Understanding your camera is a big key into forgetting about it, so you can focus on the composition of the image. I try to shoot most of my street photography in “P” Mode setting my ISO on Auto with its high end being 6400. When I do this I am letting the camera think for me, while I think about the scene in the viewfinder. Now, I modify this on occasions like night shooting or if I am intentionally trying to create blur in my images, but I select the “P” Mode because it lets me focus on the emotion, which is the most important part of my creative process.

MikeBoening02c10 Tips for Compelling Street Photography
by Mike Boening, Olympus Trailblazer

MikeBoening02dcontinue at: getolympus

MikeBoening02e

Leave a Reply

