Roman Kurywczak | Sigma Pro


Roman Kurywczak | Sigma Pro

RomanKurywczak12aTitle:Fire Bellied Toad
Photo by:Roman Kurywczak
Lens:70mm F2.8 EX DG Macro Shutter:1/250 sec Aperture:F14 ISO Setting:800
Description:Underwater photography has always intrigued me but the time and cost to become proficient at it just didn’t fit into my schedule or my budget!  I am always dreaming of new ways to use my macro lenses and after a trip to the aquarium; where photography is difficult at best, I decided I would take the same approach as photographing through glass but at the convenience of my own home.  The Sigma 70mm f/2.8 EX DG Macro would be perfect for this!  Off to the local pet store I went and purchased a 2&1/2 gallon fish tank and 2 fire bellied toads.  I then went to a local pond and used a container to grab some duckweed out of it.  I placed a stone and the duckweed into the tank and then the toad.  I used 2 printed backgrounds (one of a sky and one of dark out of focus greenery) and carefully positioned them at the water line.  I also used a gold reflector to light the underside of the toad and a friend to constantly clean the glass of the toads’ footprints. They now reside in my large fish tank upstairs.

RomanKurywczak12bTitle:Mesa Arch
Photo by:Roman Kurywczak
Lens:24-105mm F4 DG (OS)* HSM | A Shutter:1/50 sec Aperture:F22 ISO Setting:400
Description:Mesa Arch in Canyonlands National park may be the most photographed arch in the world.  I have stood there myself more times than I can remember and yet I still find it a magical morning location.  There were no clouds on this day so I used the 24-105 and zoom in on the Washerwoman in the distance and just use part of Mesa Arch as a framing element.

RomanKurywczak12cTitle:Buffalo
Photo by:Roman Kurywczak
Lens:300-800mm F5.6 EX DG APO HSM Shutter:1/640 sec Aperture:F7.1 ISO Setting:800
Description:Buffalo are some of the most difficult subjects to photograph.  At most times of the day, their fur and heads become a black hole so it is imperative to photograph them in very early or very late light!  The reach of the 300-800 allows me to work at a safe distance and the zoom versatility allows me to isolate a subject in amongst the herd.

RomanKurywczak12dTitle:Balanced Rock- Daytime
Photo by:Roman Kurywczak
Lens:24-105mm F4 DG (OS)* HSM | A Shutter:0.4 sec Aperture:F11 ISO Setting:400
Description:This is an image of Balanced Rock in Arches National Park near Moab, Utah at dusk.  The colors were very dramatic and the 24-105 allowed me to zoom in a bit tighter and isolate the rocks against the distant LaSalle Mountains.  The colors didn’t last very long but were some of the best that I have ever had in all my 16 trips out there!

RomanKurywczak12eTitle:Leopard Play- Northern Serengeti Tanzania, East Africa
Photo by:Roman Kurywczak
Lens:300-800mm F5.6 EX DG APO HSM Shutter:1/2000 sec Aperture:F8 ISO Setting:800
Description:I had been out on tour for about a week with my group when we came upon this leopard family in the tall grasses.  They were hiding low in the grass as a troupe of elephants went passing by with one full grown male almost stepping on the twins as they were lying under the broken tree.  After the elephants passed, the two resume playing up and down the tree and allowed us some great opportunities to photograph these elusive cats.  The zoom capability of the lens allowed me to quickly recompose as they chased each other around the tree.

— – —

Roman Kurywczak

more at: sigmaphoto

Leave a Reply

